Worship Makeover

Have you ever set a New Years Resolution only to fail a few days after the clock ticks midnight?

My guess is that you have.

Have you ever set a New Years Resolution and discovered it was the most rewarding thing you have ever done?

I don’t know about you… but I sure have.

Since January 1st, I have been striving to read a small portion of my bible daily in hopes of finishing the entire book in one year. Although I have not done a flawless job completeing this task, I have done fairly well. And like I said before, it has been the most rewarding thing I have ever done.

I was very surprised to learn just how important scripture is in a relationship with Jesus Christ. The sermons, devotionals, Christian fiction novels, etc. They all address it. But until you discover the meaning it has in your own life, you will never appreciate the beauty hidden in the meticulous stanzas.

I was reading my daily devotional a few weeks ago and came across a whole new way to praise God. It was interesting because it took no extra physical activity but rather a mental discipline that is crucial to my journey of faith.

I wanted to share it with you…

“Inside Out 

Read Jeremiah 2:32-33 

LIKE MANY WOMEN each morning, perhaps you wake up, pour yourself a cup of caffeine, take a shower and then get ready to meet the world. You pick out an outfit (preferably one that makes you look five to ten pounds lighter), do your hair and put on makeup. Finally, you add jewelry, a belt and maybe a purse. Voila! You’re ready to meet the day.

The care involved in our routines begs the question: How much time do we spend getting ready spiritually each morning? Do we take any time at all to ask God to guide us during our day? Do we read the Scriptures, meditate or pray so that we can be more patient, kind and loving to our spouse and children? Or do we worry more about getting out the door than about the condition of our hearts?

Caring for our outward appearance is not wrong…as long as we don’t neglect focusing on our inner thoughts and attitudes too. The prophet Jeremiah noted that women are unlikely to forget their accessories, but God’s people are prone to forget him. If we’re honest, we’ll admit that we are much like the Israelites. In the midst of our busy lives, God often gets pushed to the bottom of our to-do lists. But spiritual growth happens from the inside out.

Try this: Tomorrow as you shower, praise God for the cleansing that Jesus’ forgiveness provides. As you’re getting dressed, thank God for clothing you with Christ’s righteousness. When you put on your moisturizer, ask God to soften your heart to his leading being the foundation of your life. When you put in your contacts, ask God to give you eyes to see his workings in the world. And as you put on your earrings, thank him for beautifying your life with the fruits of the Spirit. 

Who knows? After talking to God throughout the morning, you might not eve need that caffeine!”

I know that it is hard to incorporate spending time in worship into daily life. I struggle with sitting still and reading my bible and paying attention in church without my mind wandering. We all do at some point or another.

My prayer for you is that you find new and exciting ways to praise our Lord and Savior.

God Bless!

I'd love to hear from you...

