The Help

Thought of the Day: “This is my commandment, that you love others as I have loved you.” -John 15:12

Daily Challenge: Think of a way to show love to a friend, neighbor, sibling, or stranger by “quietly” helping them out.


First, I must say that The Help by Kathryn Stockett is one of my favorite books of all time. I read the entire thing in three days and could barely stand to put it down. I’m not sure what was so intriguing about it. Maybe it was  the fact that people actually treated other human beings like they were worthless. Maybe it was the sweet moment of revenge and humor when you discover the “terrible awful” deed done by Minny. Maybe it was a little of both. Whatever the reason, I was hooked immediately, desiring the knowledge gained by each turn of a page.

The movie was also amazing and, despite the two and a half hour running time, I have gladly watched it three times now. They did an awesome job following the plot and small details that the book described.

If you haven’t read the book or see the movie, I highly recommend that you do. I laughed, I cried, I loved The Help. 

I'd love to hear from you...

