Heaven Is For Real

Thought of the Day: “He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.” – Revelation 21:4

Daily Challenge: Borrow or purchase a copy of the book Heaven is for Real.


As you may have been able to guess from the daily challenge, today I am going to discuss the book Heaven is for Real by Todd Burpo. I started this book a few nights ago and couldn’t put it down. I had heard tid bits of the story from the news video online and from my friends who had read about it in this book. Basically, (as basic as this incredible journey is) a little boy named Colton Burpo was incredibly sick and when the doctors finally discovered the problem they immediately began to operate. The medical journey was rough and both of his parents were extremely worried that he wouldn’t make it. After Colton had completed his miraculous recovery, he started to share his experience during surgery. Despite the medical record clearly stating that Colton had maintained a steady heart beat throughout the procedure, he had temporarily visited heaven in an “out of body” experience. The book explores the families initial reaction and the process of discovering more about his journey. As I read this book I was quite skeptical, that is until I reached page thirty when the emotions took over. A story of Jesus from a child is a beautiful and innocent one. I clinged onto every word as he shared his memories of heaven that linked to biblical scriptures. The most amazing things was that the scriptures he described were ones that some adults don’t understand, much less a four year old.

The most touching part of the story was when Colton described his sister. Not the sister that  he was raised with, but the sister his mother had miscarried. The sister he had never heard of. It was incredible and his entire view of heaven was one that I wish I could maintain. A reassuring view filled with childhood innocence. Although I have never been to heaven, I do know for sure. Heaven is for Real.

I'd love to hear from you...

