After God’s Own Heart: Introduction

Over the past few years, I have really focused on my identity. I strived to discover what my passion in life would be: a teacher, a nurse, a mom. I knew in my head what I wanted it to be. I had an ideal situation all planned out, but in reality I had no idea how to get there. I’ve had so many amazing role models to look up to and I could pin point exactly which qualities I wanted from each of them. But again, I wasn’t sure how to become the person I wanted to be.

I want to be patient, kind, generous, a super mom, a great cook, athletic, smart, clean, compassionate, calm, graceful, etc.

I am sure each and everyone of you can identify with this. Everyone has things they hate about themselves. Everyone wants to be better in some area of their life. It’s human nature, but that doesn’t make it okay to indulge in self bashing.

Eventually I got to the point where I could accept myself for who I am. I am short, loud, a pink sparkle queen, organized, OCD, klutzy, judgmental, obnoxious, sensitive, diligent, etc.

Image

The list could go on forever. But in the end, I’m me. Lately, I wouldn’t want to be anyone else, and I think that’s how it should be.

I am things I love. I am things I’m not proud of.

I realized that while there are some qualities I have to accept, others are things I can work on.

God has provided amazing examples for us to turn to when we desire to be more like him.Image

Esther was a young girl in a brand new environment competing with other women for the throne.

Leah had to compete with her own sister for her husbands attention.

Mary had to endure some scary situations to protect her family.

These amazing women have so much for us to learn from.

Over the next few months I am going to share some stories about these women that I have found inspiring and helpful in my own walk with God. These are things that I have discovered through my own study and I hope that you take the things that I share and carry them into your own spiritual study.

Tomorrow I will post the first story. See you then! 🙂

2 thoughts on “After God’s Own Heart: Introduction

I'd love to hear from you...

