Scrapbooking: Getting Started

As you probably already know, I love to scrapbook. Capturing memories in a creative aesthetically pleasing way is something I find therapeutic and enjoyable.

The best thing about scrapbooking is that there is not a “right” way to do it. In fact, that is one of the many reasons I love doing all things arts and crafts!

I have talked to so many people who would love to capture memories in this way, but have no idea where to start. That is why I’m going to share my process, and hopefully get some ideas flowing for you.

If you’ve never scrapbooked before you have to decide how you want to scrapbook. There are two main options.

1. Digital Scrapbooking: Using your computer to create layouts comprised of text, pictures, and digital embellishments.

2. Paper Scrapbooking: Using paper, stickers, pens, ribbon, embellishments, memorabilia, and more. Some people even do a mixture of these to capture their memories. I find paper scrapbooking is more fun and way cheaper.

Some people design digital layouts, have them printed, and then add glitter glue (stickles), stickers, etc. to those layouts. One thing that I sometimes do is spend a little extra time editing my photos and add text, borders and clipart. Then I use those digitally enhanced photos on my paper layouts.

The next thing you need to decide is what you are going to scrapbook. Are you going to create an album of one vacation, one year, one event, a holiday, a random mixture, etc.

I scrapbook one album a year with all the events from that year included. I use 3-ring 12×12 binders so that I can scrapbook in whatever order I feel inspired and assemble the album chronologically as I complete layouts.

This leads right into your next decision, size and album type. Like I said before, I scrapbook 12×12 albums. This allows a lot of pictures to be displayed on each page. To see the albums I recommend, click here.

When I first started scrapbooking, I made 8.5×11 pages. Because I was on a budget, I assembled albums of 3-ring binders from Costco and clearance page protectors from Target or Walmart. I think this is a great option for younger scrapbookers who are just getting started or for people who want to do a more journal based album.

For both 12×12 and 8.5×11 albums, there is the options of 3 ring or post bound. I recommend 3-ring. While the post bound albums usually have more options for covers and designs, I think they are difficult to use if you are scrapbooking in a random order for  chronologically organized book. Reason being, every time you want to add a page or move things around you have to take apart the whole thing These also do not hold as many pages as 3-ring albums. Another increasingly popular choice is mini-albums. An example of one of my mini-albums can be found here.

If you choose to make a mini-album, I would start with an 8×8 or follow a tutorial to make it easier. Some albums get very intricate and complicated and I find them difficult to make up on my own.

As far as obtaining materials, there are quite a few options if you don’t have to shop on a budget. I would start by making a list of events that you want to scrapbook and then I would purchase items for those events and individual sheets of paper. If you are like most people however, and need to shop on a budget, please join me tomorrow for some scrapbooking money saving tips!

Since everyone has different styles of scrapbooking (clean, modern, shabby chic, etc.), I enjoy viewing the work of others for inspiration. Scrapbook magazines, sketch books, online communities, and scrapbooking blogs are all great sources. In fact, many online sites offer challenges that spark creativity. (Click on each one of the linked words to see my favorite sources of inspiration!)

If you have any questions or comments, I’d love to hear from you! Don’t forget to join me tomorrow for scrapbooking on a budget!

2 thoughts on “Scrapbooking: Getting Started

  1. Cathy says:

    Great post Jordan! Lots of good info here. Another good thing to find when you are getting started is a scrapping buddy, getting together with someone who already scraps is a great way to gain confidence (and borrow supplies!).

  2. creativelyloving says:

    That is sooooo true! I love getting together with you because we can share things like ideas, cricut cartridges, supplies, etc. It is also a great way to try new things without each of us buying something and deciding we hate it 🙂

I'd love to hear from you...

