Encounter 2

This week I will be sharing my experience at summer camp. To see the first post in this series, click here.

I must take a second to apologize for the lack of posts in the last few days. I was out of town and the wifi connection wasn’t allowing me to post as I would have liked. I hope to get these Encounter posts out over the next week, and hope you enjoy them!


Day Two

This morning we woke up and went to church on campus. The sermon started with the speaker dancing to the music he was playing in a scene of smoke. He was pretending to be a DJ and tied his entire sermon back to that idea. He said that God is our DJ and that he is laying down the beat for our life. When we go to dances we start with what he called “white man syndrome” not able to follow the beat, making us look pretty sleepy. As we get more comfortable with ourselves, and stop worrying about what everyone else thinks, we begin to gain the ability to dance to the beat of the music. If we can set aside the judgement from others, we will be able to dance through life to the beat that God plays for us.

After church we went to Cicis for lunch and I hung out there until my future roommate picked me up. It was the first time that we have met and hung out. We went to Bed Bath and Beyond and Target to shop for our do room. She is such a sweet girl and I can’t wait to get to know her more.

Later in the afternoon I met up with my youth group in the mall. We took our fountain photo as per tradition and then headed to Walmart to stock up on dorm snacks for the week.

After dinner, Encounter officially started. Rob Duncan was the keynote speaker and taught an amazing lesson. Check back tomorrow for a summary of his lesson!

One thought on “Encounter 2

I'd love to hear from you...

