DIY Dorm Room: Ragged Squares Quilt

I am very excited to share my latest project with you! Last year I made a quilt for Austin as a surprise.

I loved the way it turned out and I knew I wanted one for myself. After starting, I set my quilt aside unfinished and only two weeks ago I mustered the motivation to finish.

I followed the tutorial Amanda Jean at Crazy Mom Quilts shared here. I didn’t follow all of her steps perfectly but mine also isn’t flawless like hers are. I’ve included a couple helpful hints below. If you decide to make a quilt and have never tried a project like this before, THIS is the one to start with. I have used a sewing machine a few times in the past but have never single-handedly taken on a project as big as this one. I did have to use a couple other google searches to clear us some of the quilting terminology but it wasn’t nearly as complicated as I thought it would be. The best thing about quilts of this style are that the imperfections are easily hidden. If you decide to make a quilt like this please email me a photo at creativelyloving.wordpress(at)gmail.com or link your project in a comment below. I would love, love, love to see your creations! I’d also be more than happy to answer any questions to the best of my ability.

Quilting Tips:

1. Take time to sketch out your quilt on a piece of paper and double check your measurements BEFORE going to the store to buy fabric. I made my quilt larger than the one in Amanda’s tutorial and had to return to the store to buy more fabric due to inaccurate measurements. Also, it might be a good idea to buy the fabric for the front and then go back to get the fabric for the back so that you can use multiple coupons and adjust if you decide you want a bigger quilt.

2. Take your time! If you get frustrated, then turn off the machine, set aside the fabric and come back to it later. I made numerous mistakes on Austin’s quilt due to hasty decisions and frustration. Also, take your time to rip out seams if necessary so that you don’t rip the fabric.

3. If you iron your material before you start then you don’t have to stop and do it multiple times during the project.

4. Don’t bother trimming up all the edges and lose strings until the end because that will only increase 10 hours minimum to your project time.

5. Spend time cutting your squares evenly because it will make all the other assembly easier.

2 thoughts on “DIY Dorm Room: Ragged Squares Quilt

I'd love to hear from you...

