Thanksgiving Weekend 2012

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.”

– Philippians 4:6


Austin and I had a great Thanksgiving weekend at home this year. We woke up bright and early on Wednesday morning and packed up our car. Austin drove us to McDonalds and we hit the road in hopes of reaching Albuquerque, New Mexico in a timely manner.

DSCN5144

We arrived at the airport with 2 hours to fill before our flight took off. It was a good thing too because it took us awhile to find parking, check our bags, and go through security. We got a quick bite to eat and then went to our terminal, ready to board our flight. It took us just over an hour to travel to Phoenix and I couldn’t stop smiling when our plane landed. I told Austin that we would be able to hear his mom way before we could see her, and sure enough, as we walked down the hall to where they stood we were greeted with a loud squeal.

My dad picked me up from the airport and after finding my bag we headed home. I was so excited to see everyone! I greeted Maddie by sitting in her lap and hugging her… she didn’t appreciate it very much. Our family friend Jim met us for dinner at Olive Garden which was a nice treat. After dinner I went to see some friends from church and hung out for a little while. I crashed that night and slept for 10 hours. I was so sleepy!

I went to pick my grandparents up for Thanksgiving lunch and got to see their new place. My mom prepared a yummy meal for us and I was extremely grateful to celebrate a special day with people that I love. After lunch was over and the dishes were done I went over to Austin’s house to see everyone. I got to see some kids that I babysit for and play with them for a little while. It was a busy day but I wouldn’t have spent it any other way!

DSCN5150

DSCN5152

Haley and I had made plans to go black friday shopping so at 10:30p.m. we headed out. We stopped by Target and Ulta and made it home by 12:15. It was the first time we had ever gone out to hit the sales.

DSCN5153We went back home to sleep for a few hours and then Haley got up to babysit and I got up to go scrapbook with a friend. Later friday night Austin came over for a yummy mexican food dinner. We made brownies for dessert and watched a movie that I can bought on sale the night before.

Saturday morning my mom took Haley and I to go get our toes done while my Dad went golfing with Austin. When I got back home, Austin was waiting for me and we went to his house so I could shop with his mom. My family followed later that evening and we all ate dinner together.

Austin and I had to wake up at 3:15 Phoenix time to go back to the airport for our 5:30 a.m. flight. Yawn! I didn’t get much sleep the night before so we ran on about 2 hours of sleep. We made it through our flight and the drive back to Lubbock in good time. Austin and I got a good lunch and stopped by Walmart to kill some time before the dorms opened back up. I was able to unpack and wash some clothes before anyone else arrived and then started on some homework.

We had a long weekend but it was such a blessing to get to go home. I was sad to leave but I get to return in just over a week for Christmas break! Yayyyy!!!!

I'd love to hear from you...

