Whom then shall I fear?

Now that we are well on our way into second semester, I think it’s starting to hit everyone, especially me. We are all stressing about housing for next year, where are we going to live? Are we going to get the apartment we applied for? What about the jobs we are hoping to have this summer, or the educational programs we desire to be apart of next semester? And for that matter, what about the classes we are taking this semester? Are we going to finish with the grades we want or are we going to be disappointed and forced to take them again?

I think that we all have something going on wether we are in college or high school, or are done with school and are working with families. I think each of us has something that we are waiting on, something we are going through, something we are unsure about. I also think that most of these things are not worth stressing about.

Is stressing about getting into Nursing school going to help me get in?

Is anxiously waiting on the apartment supervisor to notify me about housing next year going to ensure that we are able to move into one?

Is worrying about jobs for the summer going to make it easier to find one or ensure that I get one that I like?

The answer to all of these questions is simple: NO!

I’m not saying life isn’t important. We should be aware of these things and put forth effort in all of these areas but once the tasks at hand are completed we need to stop worrying and patiently wait. We need to place the burdens in God’s hands and trust that He is working in His way, for His will, for the completion of His plan for us.

“Yet those who wait for the LORD Will gain new strength; They will mount up with wings like eagles, They will run and not get tired, They will walk and not become weary.”  – Isaiah 40:31

Today I wait patiently in confidence that everything will work out even if the end result isn’t the way that I think it should be. Today I wait in confidence that my God knows what He is doing.
Today I wait.

 

I'd love to hear from you...

